Solo: A Short Review

IMG_20180602_212550I just got back from watching the second stand-alone Star Wars film.  This was a movie I had a lot of trepidation about.  First, I thought it was too soon to do a young Han Solo movie, and second, due to all the well publicized issues during production.  So I wasn’t optimistic.  Until that is, I saw the first trailer.  It fully restored my faith in the project and I began to really look forward to the film.  Tonight, I saw it.

I thought it was great.  It was really fun, it didn’t drag, and had a great cast.  There wasn’t one character or performance that rubbed me the wrong way.  Alden Ehrenreich served well as Han Solo, Donald Glover was brilliant as Lando, and Joonas Suotamo does a great job filling Peter Mayhew’s shoes as Chewbacca.  Having Emilia Clarke, Woody Harrelson and Paul Bettany among others to round out the cast and this movie has the acting talent to go far.

The story follows Han’s early years from growing up on Corellia to leaving the Imperial Army, to meeting Lando and Chewie and winning the Falcon.  It’s paced really well, and like most Star Wars movies is a great popcorn flick.  The special effects and music are top-notch as always, and the locations, both real and C.G.I are breathtaking.

I think my favourite scene in the movie was the famous Kessel Run, which has a great deal of tension as well as showing off the great chemistry between Han and Chewie, which Ehrenreich and Suotamo play very well.  Hell, I’d expect they get along well off set too, the friendship between the two just feels right the entire time.

The movie also connects between other parts of the Star Wars Universe.  If you look closely, you may be able to spot connections with Rogue One, the prequel trilogy, the Clone Wars, and Rebels.  Keep your eyes open and have fun!

In the coming days and viewings I may find bones to pick with this movie, but as of right now I have to say that I truly enjoyed it.  If you’re a fan of Han Solo, Chewbacca or Lando, this film is very much a must see.

One thought on “Solo: A Short Review

Leave a comment